Veggie Gardener Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! New here, and I have an out-of-the-box question....

I have been gardening for a few years now, we live in a subdivision where the topsoil was pulled off and sold before construction of houses began (nice, huh?!). Our soil is pure clay, it's rock hard when it's dry and just awful to work with.

I put raised beds and added topsoil in our back yard. The soil is workable now, and we have been amending it every year to try to make it good for veggie gardening. Still, when we tested it this year it has almost NO nitrogen at all.

SO.... being "green", and wanting to enjoy organic veggies, I ran across some articles about using diluted human urine for fertilizer to replace nitrogen. Apparently human urine has a perfect balance of electrolytes and nutrients for food production (isn't the human body AMAZING?). It sounds very appealing.... except for the pee part.

Has anyone heard of this before, and has anyone tried it?

There is an "ick" factor, but as a registered nurse, I am aware that urine is sterile under normal circumstances, and I can overlook any ickiness, if the benefits are there. So "EEEWWW GROSSS!!" is not really a factor for me.

·
Premium Member
580 Posts
are you still tilling the soil? for me I have gone with the (back to eden) method,no tilling just layers of stuff. It helps balance the soil much better also if you can get your hands on composted chicken manure it is also loaded with nitrogen. as far as using human urine you don't use it straight but watered down considerably.collecting it you have to be either very creative or use a composting toilet.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)