Veggie Gardener Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone,
a little confused....01.my corn is starting to silk...about 1/2 inch....do i polinate it now or let the silk grow a bit....the tassle is starting to ripen as well...02.after it starts to turn dark do i put the oil on right away or do i wait a bit for it to dry then add the oil.

·
Premium Member
580 Posts
oil on corn WHY? and corn should be self pollinating. I am growing sweet corn and have never heard of putting oil on corn.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi steph,
i have been reading about pollinating corn in a home garden and alot of the reading suggested i put two drops of oil in the base of the silk after it is pollinated to help with any worms that might hatch and eat the corn....this is my first year gardening and everyone has a different opinion on how to do this...i am just trying to do what is good for my corn...i am so afraid of it not turning out for me.

·
Premium Member
580 Posts